dare.

yesterday was the first day of a five week online course about dreaming big. the course, called mondo beyondo, is facilitated by two giants in creativity, jen lemen & andrea scher. i signed up for the course because i feel as though i have lost touch with the ability to allow myself to be creative, to allow myself to dream. i feel as though i have blocked the creativity that used to flow through me so easily. i have lost touch with the part of me who believed in possibilities. this class is already making an impact on me. i am sure that there are some sort of soulful, spirit ripples emanating from the precise internet location of the online class site throughout the infinity that is the internet. not only that, the universe must be pulsing with the rhythm of over 150 individuals simultaneously believing that anything is possible. i don’t know what comes next. i know that right now, i feel as though i am learning something that will make a difference. i am where i need to be for now. i will open my heart to the possibilities.

this is a poem shared by one of my classmates. i had never heard/read it before and had never (that i recall) heard of the poet, but i was hooked with the first line.

Wild Geese by Mary Oliver

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

i am daring myself–or maybe that is the universe daring me–to free myself and live my one wild life abundantly.

This entry was posted in life, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to dare.

  1. Keetha says:

    I’m applauding for you. You go!

    I love the poem (which I’d never read, either) and I love your journey. Nothing is more fulfilling, more rewarding, and makes you plain feel better than being creative. Keep us posted!

  2. Jaymie says:

    Yes, do keep us posted. Also, thank you for the reminder…I always seem to forget the wild part.

  3. jacque says:

    oh ladies, never fear, there will be updates galore!
    you will get so sick of hearing about mondo beyondo! =)

    i urge you both to check out the site and sign up for the next available online course ASAP.

  4. kelly says:

    Oh, what a lovely poem. Thank you so much for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

