everything.

one’s first step in wisdom is to question everything – and one’s last is to come to terms with everything.–george c. lichtenberg

it is easy enough to question everything in this world, but to come to terms with everything is a whole ‘nuther thing.

how do you? especially when everything contains the good, the bad, and the ugly. life has a way of throwing curve balls out of nowhere it seems and we are doing good to just hang on to our sanity let alone maintain equilibrium. so finding a reason or coming to terms with the curve balls is definitely a difficult task.

2010 held a whole slew of curve balls for me and my family. in terms of events and situations, i’ve encountered things i didn’t think i would and things that i thought i had time to prepare for. funny how that works.

as the year draws to a close and the new year beckons, i stand with a bit more humility at the door between the worlds of past and present. a hard won humility that perhaps i didn’t necessarily want.

perhaps the most important lesson that i’ve learned is love–in the giving, in the receiving, and most importantly–in the being. i’m much more open to giving my love away with no expectations, something significant considering the major trust issues that i had to struggle through (and still wrestle with) to get to here. i’m slowly learning to accept love when it comes my way….sometimes this means i’ll get hurt in the process, but i firmly believe that there is a reason, a lesson to be learned through it all. perhaps the most difficult lesson that i find myself in the middle of is learning to just BE love. now just wrapping my head around THAT has been a challenge.

the challenge continues as i learn more every day and learn, most importantly, to look inward for true happiness where i had always looked outwardly–to those people who i wanted to love & accept me, to those situations and things that i believed i needed or wanted, to society as a whole, to some stranger whom i believed held the key to unlocking all the secrets.

today, i can honestly say that i am ready to face “everything”, even though i don’t know what it will ask of me, what it will take from me, what it will give me, or what it will do to me. i am ready for everything.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to everything.

  1. Renee says:

    Love this!!! You go girl!

  2. Joseph Rosado says:

    Dear Jacque,
    Great blog! I like your style of writing, in a way, a bit mysterious! That’s a good thing, makes one want to read more. And yes, and ask who is this person?

    It is said, “Dont Be a Prisoner of Your Past. Be an Architech of Your Future.” I can only exist by allowing myself to trust. I say, if you can’t trust someone, you cannot love them either. Like you I am better at trusting than I was a few years ago. Being hurt by relationships, and some times people whom you trusted as fiends.

    I now live asking for “My Assignment” every morning. I have been doing this for the last 19 years. Your assignment comes from your higher self, or one might say, your intuition. It’s helped me do away with my ego.

    Perhaps you might like to try this with your morning coffee or tea. It’s very easy if you allow it to become part of your daily living. You don’t need to be in a meditative position if you don’t want to. But there will be times you may want to be in the silence of meditation.
    I am happy to hear that you are becoming more mindful and aware of what’s happening around you! I look forward to reading more of your blogs!
    May you always feel the joy of sharing, and may you always walk in Love and Light.
    Shine On Brightly,
    Joseph xo

Leave a Reply

